Positive transformations for body, mind and soul Positive transformations for body, mind and soul Courses Shop Schedule Blogs
Log In
Don't have an account? Join

7 Energy Centers: A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras

7 Energy Centers A Beginners Guide to Chakras
Chakras. We’ve all heard about them and maybe even seen the beautiful illustrated charts of colorful circles that run down the center of our body. Yet, are chakras real? Do these energy centers exist as actual openings through which our vital life force ebbs and flows?

It could be argued that our entire bodies are a unified energy field, inseparable from the earth’s energy field. But, in Taoist, Hindu, Buddhist and other Eastern belief systems, it is generally accepted that there exist areas in the human anatomy known as plexuses or bundles–of arteries, veins and nerves– where the life force or energy is more concentrated. We call these areas chakras, derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel or circle.

In many Eastern traditions, this circle represents the endless flow of energy and in some instances in the cycle of life, death and rebirth. Most traditions identify seven distinct chakras, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra has its own energy pattern, color vibration, and psycho-emotional correlates. The chakra centers are located along the centerline of the body, running up the spine and down the front of the body.

Western tradition associates each chakra with a distinct color and psycho-emotional patterns. Author Caroline Myss describes chakras as filters for energy recordings of every experience and every thought you have in your life.

In this series we will discuss what chakras are, where they are located in your body, signs of chakra misalignment and how you can access your chakras to heal yourself and energize your life.

The Seven Chakras

There are an infinite number of centers or ‘vortexes’ of energy in the physical as well as the ethereal human body and aura. Traditionally, there are 7 commonly recognized Major Chakras, each with a distinct character that relates to some aspect of consciousness and physical health:

First/Root Chakra – Survival issues, money, food, shelter, financial independence. Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

Location: Base of spine, tailbone

Color: Red

Emotional Aspects: Birthright, ability to deal with tasks related to the material and physical world, self-defense, self-esteem and personal and emotional security issues.and personal and emotional security issues.

Second/Sacral Chakra – Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches inward toward spine.

Color: Scarlet/Orange Red

Emotional Aspects: Feelings, sensory and sensual perception. Being in tune with our feelings and intuition. Social and intimacy issues. Desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation, creativity.

Third/Solar Plexus Chakra – Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

Location: Upper abdomen, thorax.

Color: Orange

Emotional Aspects: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem. Personal power–The right to think. Balance of intellect, self-confidence and ego power. Ability to have self-control and humor.

Fourth/Heart Chakra – Our ability to love.

Location: Center of chest just above heart.

Color: Golden Yellow 

Emotional Aspects: Love, joy, inner peace. Relationships. The right to love and be loved. Forgiveness, compassion, self-love. Self-control. Self acceptance.

Fifth/Throat Chakra – Our ability to communicate.

Location: Throat.

Color: Blue Green

Emotional Aspects: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth. Voice in relationships, the right to speak. Learning to express oneself and one’s beliefs (truthful expression). Ability to trust. Loyalty. Organization and planning.

Sixth/Brow or Third Eye Chakra – Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

Location: Forehead, between the eyes at bridge of nose.

Color: Indigo

Emotional Aspects: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions. The right to “see.” Trusting one’s intuition and insights. Developing one’s psychic abilities. Self-realization. Releasing hidden and repressed negative thoughts.

Seventh/Crown Chakra – The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually and to our awakened consciousness.

Location: Crown of the head.

Color: Violet

Emotional Aspects: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

Next Week: Accessing your chakras for bliss and balance.
Written by Kim Alyce Steffgen
With a background in journalism and marketing communications, Kim's wordsmithing reflects a love of language that brings spice to many ads, articles, banners, and videos. To that spice she adds her passion for herbs, plants and alternative health.
0 Comments Tell us your thoughts
To comment, please Log in or Sign up.
Wellness Guide
Authentic Living With Ilchi Lee
Ask Ilchi Lee
Integrative Health Guide
Product Advice
Stories of Change
Contributor Articles
ChangeYourEnergy 15-Day Trial
ChangeYourEnergy Shop
Sign up for ChangeYourEnergy e-Newsletter
Positive transformations for body, mind and soul
World's leading online education platform for energy, chakra, yoga and guided meditation.
Over 1500 videos, articles, live webinars, and weekly streaming classes for all levels. Experience positive change for the body, mind, and soul from the teachings of mind-body expert Ilchi Lee.
Phone: 928-239-4002
Body & Brain Energy Exercise
By Brian Huff
Mon, Jun. 17, 10:00-11:00AM EDT
The information, instruction or advice given by ChangeYourEnergy.com is not intended to be a substitute for competent professional medical or psychological diagnosis and care. You should not discontinue or modify any medication presently being taken pursuant to medical advice without obtaining approval from your healthcare professional.